Twist The Knife

Forty Fours

Rip Cat 2019

Review by David Bowling


Somethin old, something new, from the Forty Fours. It has been seven years since their last album, and in the mean time, vocalist/guitarist leader Johnny Main has assembled an entirely new lineup. Main and harmonica player Eric Von Herzen, bassist Kike Hightower, drummer Gary Ferguson, and guitarist Junior Watson have now released Twist Of Fate.

Their new album contains only one original song, “Cutting Deep,” written by Main. The other seven tracks are covers of songs by Muddy Waters, Howlin’ Wolf, Lightnin’ Hopkins, and Albert Collins.

Main leads his band through 33 minutes of energetic blues with rock and roll elements. There is a raw feel to many of the tracks but Main’s guitar work and Von Herzen’s harp center the music and provide enough sophisticated elements to keep it interesting.

The reconstituted Forty Fours have released an album that keeps the music simple and sometimes that is best. Twist Of Fate is a solid effort and well worth a listen.

Rating: ***