Song By Song By Song

Mike Montrey Band

Water Productions 2014

Review by David Bowling


The Mike Montrey Band is a sprawling aggregation consisting of guitarist/lead vocalist Mike Montrey, vocalist Jen Augustine, keyboardist Karl Dietel, bassist Anthony Duca, saxophonist Adam Garnys, and drummer Rob Smith. When they are hitting on all cylinders, they create a simplistic yet sophisticated sound.

They have taken a unique approach with their new album Song By Song By Song. As the title suggests, all the songs were recorded at different times and released as singles. They have now been assembled into an album. While the approach means a lack of cohesion; many of the tracks, when approached individually, are excellent on their own. The best way to listen to the album is to re-set yourself after each song.

Songs such as “The Sunshine,” “A Hole In The Sky,” “Ghosts Of Gypsy Ways,” and “Providence Of Compromise” cover their different styles of music. “Providence of Compromise begins with a smooth blast of brass before sliding into the lyrics. “Ghosts Of Gypsy Ways” is a simple and poignant tale.

 Song By Song By Song is an album worth exploring.

Rating: ***